JMM Helpline: 1800 200 9621

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, popular among public as JMM, is a regional political party mainly centered in Jharkhand state and its neighbouring states of Odisha, west Bengal and Bihar. The post of party presidentship is adorned by Shri Sibu Soren. Currently JMM is the ruling party of Jharkhand state with the alliance of Congress and Rashtiya Janta Dal under the regime of Chief Minister Shri Hemant Soren.

The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha aims at the liberalization of Jharkhand. The basic ideology of the party is true socialism and everyone’s participation/contribution/rights/honor & identity to build the nation in strongest way to lead the world society through their ethnic values and progressive destination.

The Jharkhand movement again received a shot in the arm with the emergence of the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha in 1973. The growing strength of the JMM was reflected in the Lok Sabha and Assembly elections and the demand for a statehood for the first time shook the corridors of power with the then prime minister of India Mr. Rajiv Gandhi setting up a Committee on Jharkhand Matters(CoJM). In the light of the recommendations by the CoJM, prolonged negotiations between the Centre, the Bihar government and the movement leaders led to the setting up of the Jharkhand Area Autonomous Council (JAAC) in August 1995. It was hailed as a major step towards the creation of Jharkhand.

Buckling under pressure from the JMM members, with whose support the Janta Dal had a majority in the state Assembly, the Bihar government on July 22, 1997, adopted a resolution for the creation of a separate state. In 1998, however, Janta Dal leader Mr. Lalu Prasad Yadav reversed his stand on Jharkhand statehood. The JMM reacted sharply, withdrawing its support to the Lalu government.

After the last Assembly election in the state threw up a hung Assembly, Janta Dal's dependence on the Congress extended support on the precondition that Janta Dal will not pose a hurdle to the passage of the Bihar reorganization Bill (Jharkhand Bill). Finally, with the support from both Janta Dal and Congress, the ruling coalition at the Centre led by the BJP which has made statehood its mail poll plank in the region in successive polls earlier, cleared the Jharkhand Bill in the monsoon session of the Parliament this year, thus paving the way for the creation of a separate Jharkhand state.

Shri Sibu Soren founded the ‘Sonat Santhali Samaj’ in 1969. On 4th Feb, 1973 with the help of Shri Vindo Bihari Mahto, the leader of ‘Shivajee Samaj’, he founded Jharkhand Mukti Morcha. Shri Vinod Bihrari Mahto became president and Shri Sibu Soren as General Secretary of the party.The prominent party leader at that time our Comrade A.K.Roy party secretary-society of industrial and coal labors., prominent trade union and movement leader late martin Nirmal Mahto, late tek lal mahto among other.
Later, The Morcha fixed four aims – Struggle for the formation of a new and separate state of Jaharkhand, Struggle against prevailing feudal system, and Struggle for rehabilitation of displaced and finding jobs for them in local industries and last aim was to conserve the forest. It was Shri Sibu Soren who dreamt for a separate state for its people and started a series of agitations on mass scale. Later, taking a queue from him some others also followed the suit.
  • Formation of Jharkhand Coordination Committee (JCC) in 1987.
  • A memorandum related to separate state comprising 21 districts from Bihar, West Bengal, Odissa and Madhya Pradesh, submitted to the then President Gyani Jail Singh, in Dec, 1987.
  • Shri Sibu Soren became JMM president in 1991 after the death of the then president Nirmal Mahto.
  • Under the presidentship of Shri Sibu Soren Jharkhand area Autonomous council (JAAC) was notified in the state Gazette on Aug 7, 1995.
  • A resolution was passed in Bihar Assembly for the creation of a separate Jharkhand state on 22 July.
  • Finally, on 15th November, 2000, Jharkhand became 28th state of India.